Domestic Violence Article

Where to Find an Attorney for Specific Legal Advice

Arizona has three legal aid organizations which cover different regions of the state.

  1. Community Legal Services (800) 852-9075 covers Maricopa, Mohave, Yavapai, Yuma and LaPaz Counties.
  2. Southern Arizona Legal Aid (800) 640-9465 covers southern Arizona.
  3. DNA People’s Legal Services (800) 789-7287 covers northern Arizona.

All legal service programs in Arizona differ, and their criteria for accepting cases vary. The legal aid organizations above all have the same criteria of income restrictions and legal status requirements, but do have varying priorities.

To find out about more Arizona resources that may be able to assist you, you can contact LegalLEARN, Legal Information & Resources at (866) 637-5341.

Individuals may apply for free and reduced fee legal services by using the "Access To Justice Online Intake System" through AZLawHelp. 

If the legal services program in your area cannot assist you, you may be able to find a lawyer through lawyer referral services in Maricopa County (602) 257-4434 or Pima County (520) 623-4625.

The State Bar also maintains a listing of all Arizona attorneys on their website, and certifies “specialists” in eight legal areas. (Not all attorneys seek such certification, however.) Lists of specialists can also be found at the State Bar of Arizona’s website.



  • Am I legally able to move out of state with my son, if the father is on the birth certificate? He has been active in our sons life as well as paying for his needs. However I am not safe nor is my children's state of mind and well being. There is 15 years of emotional, physical and mental abuse from him. My children as well as myself want a safe home and stability. I can't provide that unless I relocate. I have a job lined up in the new state as well as a home I can afford on my own The town sheriff is 200 feet away from me as well as CIA behind me I would be renting my home from family friends
  • I have currently fled domestic violence to AZ from TX. Since I have left he keeps harassing me. Could I file harassment and DV charges here if the DV happened in TX?
  • My boyfriend was arrested last night for aggravated assault against me. I told the police that he has a history of mental illness and that he needed to go to a psychiatric hospital but they took him to jail anyway. I am not pressing charges but I am afraid the state will. How do I help him get the charge dropped and get mental help?
  • I have been victim of domestic violence for the past 15 years. I stayed with my husband for the sake of my son, my husband has been arrested any times and the police and CPS have been called by myself and my 14yr old son. I purchased gun and have a concealed carry permit. He came at me last week and I shot him twice to keep him from killing me. Now I have been charged with 2 counts of aggravated assault. I do not have the resources to defend myself. I am out o bail for now but do not have the balance of my bond. I need help asap. Thank you.
  • My 15year old refuse to follow my rule and the law rules he in the system my son lied to police and said my fiance hit him with a object me the mother of 15year old told police that was not true and they took my fiance to jail for 3rd degree battery and put porole hold on him my fiance did not hit him what's the proper steps to take to free him
  • If I have a deferred plea/sentencing does that count as a conviction?
  • My ex husband came through the drive thru of my work while I was off, said to a coworker that he would pay him to kill me. My co worker told me and my boss about this. The police were notified and they said, " Well youre still standing, I guess if anything happens to you, we will start an investigation." Is this legal?
  • I just found out that my son is on two restraining orders against each other how do i fix this mibe was filed FIRST
  • So my daughters father and i where together when she was born naturally i gave her his last name. On Septemeber 29, 2015 he was arrested and charged with his 3rd domestic. There's a 2 year order of protection in place he gets visitation within that op. Due to all this id like to not change but at least hyphenate her last name can i do this?


  • He told me that I could actually get all the money I needed by using my home as collateral. . .
  • I just helped my mother, age 89, deal with her Medicare HMO. . .
  • If you get a divorce, make sure your date of birth is on the Decree if your name is changing!. . .



  • Welcome to our Newly Redesigned Website! Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.


  • Please select your county of residence below.



  • State Bar of Arizona
  • Maricopa County Bar
    Referral number 602-257-4434
  • Pima County Bar
    Referral number 520-623-4625
  • National Domestic Violence Hotline
  • Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
  • Certified Legal Document Preparer Program