questions & answers
Question: if you're given a 40 day notice do you still have to pay rent because owner is selling the house
Answer: In Arizona, typically the buyer would have to honor the existing lease, meaning the new owner needs to let you finish the lease term...UNLESS your lease is month-to-month...then you would have 30 days. There is one exception...if the lease states that the lease terminates if the property is sold. I would advise you to speak with an attorney who specializes in contract, real estate, or landlord tenant law. They can review your lease and advise you the best course of action.
if you're given a 40 day notice do you still have to pay rent because owner is selling the house
- Welcome to our Newly Redesigned Website! Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program