questions & answers
Question: In Arizona, can I move out at the age of sixteen with parental consent? I plan to move to Wyoming, I will have a place to live immediately upon arrival. I will have a part time job and plan on graduating high school.
Answer: The following is provided for educational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. To determine how the law applies to your specific situation, you may consider consulting an attorney directly. According to Arizona law, an adult is a person 18 years or older. A.R.S. section 1-215(3) If a person is under age 18 in Arizona, he or she cannot leave home without a parent's permission unless he or she is fully emancipated, or the parents have lost their right to parental authority. Arizona law allows a child aged 16 or older to file for emancipation, but the process is quite lengthy. If a 16-year-old leaves home without permission from a parent or legal guardian, he or she can be prosecuted as an incorrigible child (A.R.S. § 8-201(15)(c)). Some of the consequences of being found incorrigible include being fined, be placed on probation, and being ordered to do community service. The specific charges and consequences are left up to the officer of the court. In addition, Arizona Law (ARS §13-3613) makes it a class 1 misdemeanor (up to 6 months in jail and a $2500 fine) for a parent to cause, encourage or contribute to the dependency or delinquency of a child.
In Arizona, can I move out at the age of sixteen with parental consent? I plan to move to Wyoming, I will have a place to live immediately upon arrival. I will have a part time job and plan on graduating high school.
- Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program