Landlord and Tenant - Mobile Home Parks

questions & answers

Question: My Park charged me a $5 per day late fee on unpaid late fees. Is this legal in Arizona? The park applies any payment made to the amount due, thus guaranteeing that any payment made that is less than the entire amount owed will be subject to late fees for the entire time additional money is owed. I believe there are laws preventing that practice for mortgages but I'm unsure about rentals or leases. Shouldn't payments first be applied toward the monthly rent or lease and then any additional payment be applied to late fees? And isn't it illegal to charge interest or fees on late fees?

Answer: Following is the website to the Arizona Revised Statute on Landlord/tenant Tenant Agreement.  http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/33/01413.htm&Title=33&DocType=ARS.  You may want to speak with an attorney regarding these issues. 

QUESTIONS

  • My Park charged me a $5 per day late fee on unpaid late fees. Is this legal in Arizona? The park applies any payment made to the amount due, thus guaranteeing that any payment made that is less than the entire amount owed will be subject to late fees for the entire time additional money is owed. I believe there are laws preventing that practice for mortgages but I'm unsure about rentals or leases. Shouldn't payments first be applied toward the monthly rent or lease and then any additional payment be applied to late fees? And isn't it illegal to charge interest or fees on late fees?

STORIES

  • He told me that I could actually get all the money I needed by using my home as collateral. . .
  • I just helped my mother, age 89, deal with her Medicare HMO. . .
  • He told me that I could actually get all the money I needed by using my home as collateral. . .

LegalLEARN

YOUR FEEDBACK IS NEEDED

FIND LEGAL HELP

  • Please select your county of residence below.

    County:
     

OTHER LEGAL RESOURCES

  • State Bar of Arizona
    www.azbar.org
  • Maricopa County Bar
    www.maricopabar.org
    Referral number 602-257-4434
  • Pima County Bar
    www.pimacountybar.org
    Referral number 520-623-4625
  • National Domestic Violence Hotline
    800-799-7233
  • Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
    866-553-0893
  • Certified Legal Document Preparer Program
    Link

ORGANIZATIONS