questions & answers
Question: what is the policy on return and refund for purchase of used car. is there a time limit or contract / bank approval that would limit me from returning and getting refund of down payment
Answer: Arizona does not have what is commonly known as the three day “cooling off period”, if a purchaser merely changes his or her mind about the purchase. Please refer to the purchase agreement for the dealer’s return policy. Arizona Revised Statutes §§ 44-1261 to 44-1267 deals with the Motor Vehicle Warranties. A.R.S. § 44-1267 provides protections for purchasers of used cars that are defective. The purchaser may return the used car in the event of a defect unless the seller of a used car conspicuously writes in the contract in bold writing the following statement: “The seller hereby warrants that this vehicle will be fit for the ordinary purposes for which the vehicle is used for 15 days or 500 miles after delivery, whichever is earlier, except with regard to particular defects disclosed on the first page of this agreement. You (the purchaser) will have to pay up to $25.00 for each of the first two repairs if the warranty is violated.” (A.R.S. 44-1267 (G).) A.R.S. 44-1371 says that a person can return a motor vehicle if the financing was not finalized and the dealer increases the interest rate after the sale of the motor vehicle.
what is the policy on return and refund for purchase of used car. is there a time limit or contract / bank approval that would limit me from returning and getting refund of down payment
- Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program