Arizona Resources

questions & answers

Question: if my car was inbounded in mesa for 30 day imbound. can the tow yard and police department keep my car for ransom due to money owed to them for storage fees. all tickets were dismissed in regards to the vehicle being towed.

Answer: It may be helpful to speak with the person in charge of the towing company; however it is within their rights to charge for storage fees. Pursuant to ARS 33-1704, “If the occupant is in default for a period of more than thirty days, the operator may foreclose the lien by selling the property stored in the leased space at a public sale, for cash, or if the property is protected property, by disposing of the property.” This means that not only are you responsible for paying the fines however if you do not, it is within the legal rights of the towing company to sell your vehicle once they notify you. The statue further states that “If the personal property includes a vehicle, any person listed as a registered owner or lienholder on the records of the department may pay the amount necessary to satisfy the lien, redeem the vehicle and recover possession of the vehicle. The operator is not liable to the occupant or any other person who claims an interest in the vehicle if the operator releases the vehicle to a person listed as a registered owner or lienholder pursuant to this subsection.” This concludes that it is within the law to charge the storage fee and as soon as the owner of the vehicle pays the due amount, he or she can be rewarded their belongings back. For consumer questions regarding repossession, contact the Arizona Attorney General’s Office at 602-542-5763 or 1-800-352-8431.

QUESTIONS

  • if my car was inbounded in mesa for 30 day imbound. can the tow yard and police department keep my car for ransom due to money owed to them for storage fees. all tickets were dismissed in regards to the vehicle being towed.

STORIES

  • Age discrimination in the workplace. . .
  • I just helped my mother, age 89, deal with her Medicare HMO. . .
  • I just helped my mother, age 89, deal with her Medicare HMO. . .

LegalLEARN

YOUR FEEDBACK IS NEEDED

FIND LEGAL HELP

  • Please select your county of residence below.

    County:
     

OTHER LEGAL RESOURCES

  • State Bar of Arizona
    www.azbar.org
  • Maricopa County Bar
    www.maricopabar.org
    Referral number 602-257-4434
  • Pima County Bar
    www.pimacountybar.org
    Referral number 520-623-4625
  • National Domestic Violence Hotline
    800-799-7233
  • Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
    866-553-0893
  • Certified Legal Document Preparer Program
    Link

ORGANIZATIONS