questions & answers
Question: I just had my daughter four months ago me and her father are no longer together never where married but he keeps making comments about taking her or being able take her anywhere he please ex; to California to visit he’s family . My question is since we’re not married but he sign the birth certificate do I have the finale say in things ?
Answer: Unless there is a court order stating otherwise, both parents are considered to have equal rights to their child. The best situation, of course, is when both parents agree on what is in the best interests of the child and act accordingly. If you believe you need to limit the father's ability to travel with your child, then you need to go to court and ask the court to define the rights of each parent as to custody (now called legal-decision making) and visitation (parenting time). Be aware, however, that taking the other parent to court can create hostility. If you want to establish legal decision-making, you can find the forms on the Superior Court's website along with instructions. Go to: https://www.azcourts.gov/selfservicecenter/Family-Law-Forms. You may also want to get some personal legal advice based on the detailed facts of your situation. There are three programs in Arizona that you can use to get inexpensive legal advice and guidance. One is the modest means program. You will need to apply for the program and meet the financial qualifications. Once you are qualified, Modest Means will send you a list of attorneys whose practice covers your area of concern. You select a lawyer from the list and will be entitled to a one hour consultation for $75. If you need additional help and if the lawyer agrees to take your case, the most you will be charged is $75 per hour. The telephone number is (866) 637-5341. Both Maricopa and Pima Counties have lawyer referral programs that offer a 30 minute consult with an attorney. Maricopa County's Lawyer Referral Service offers its 30 minute consult with an experienced attorney for $40. The telephone number is (602) 257-4434. Pima County's Lawyer Referral Service offers a 30 minute attorney consult for $35. The telephone number is (520) 623-4625.
I just had my daughter four months ago me and her father are no longer together never where married but he keeps making comments about taking her or being able take her anywhere he please ex; to California to visit he’s family . My question is since we’re not married but he sign the birth certificate do I have the finale say in things ?
- Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program