Arizona Pawn LawsProtect Yourself When Pawning Property
Remember: Pawn Laws differ depending on where you pawn your property – each state has different pawn laws.
Repaying the Loan – Getting Your Property Back
• In Arizona, a loan must be paid off in no less than 3 months, but you and the pawnbroker can agree on a longer term.
Any agreement for a longer period should be in writing on the pawn ticket.
A pawnbroker cannot require you to pay off your pawn ticket before it is due.
• After the due date, the pawnbroker may sell your property or keep it.
Note: The pawnbroker has no legal duty to inform you that you are behind in payments or if the broker plans to sell or keep your property.
The pawnbroker can sell your property one day after the due date.
Pawn tickets: What Information Should the Pawn Ticket Include?
• The Pawnshop’s Name; Address; Phone Number.
• Your Name; Address; Phone Number.
• Your Physical Description: Height; Weight; Hair/Eye Color.
• The number and type of identification documents you presented – Example: driver’s license.
• A list of property that you left with the pawnbroker.
• The date of the pawn transaction.
• The date that the loan must be paid off.
• The amount of money lent under the loan.
• A statement that after the due date, the pawned property is owned by the pawn broker.
Interest Rates and Additional Fees: What is Legal
• There IS a limit on the amount of interest a pawnbroker is legally able to charge.
• In Arizona, the highest interest rate a pawnbroker can charge is 8% for the first 2 months and 6% for each month thereafter under the pawn agreement.
Other Allowable Fees
• $5.00 set-up fee for the pawn account.
• $7.50 fee for a lost pawn ticket.
• $5.00 fee for each firearm pawned.
• $5.00 per month storage fee for each item pawned.
• $5.00 per day storage fee for pawned vehicles.
• Any taxes or fees charged by the government on pawn transactions.
• ALL OTHER FEES ARE ILLEGAL.
Protecting Your Rights Under Pawn Law
Here are a few tips to help protect your rights:
• New Mexico and the reservation have pawn laws that grant more protection to you than in Arizona.
• Keep track of the amount of time your property has been pawned.
• Check that all information is correct and that it is included on your pawn ticket.
• Make sure that you are not charged an interest rate higher than 8% per month for the first 2 months and 6% for each month thereafter.
• Do not pay any fees other than: set-up fee, lost pawn ticket fee, fee for firearm, storage fee and government charges.
I was influenced to redo a Secondary motor vehicle finance transaction. A rep from the office called and urged me to go in, cash out on my loan, and do another one. I told them I no longer own the vehicle and they said it's okay and come in anyways. I am now being sued for defaulting on the loan but I was wondering if I could fight it? The contract was signed under false pretenses.
I started Beauty School in Sept 07, I was 17 at the time.The school had me sign for the loan without a co-signer. My parents filled out the paper for the Pell Grant and wanted to pay so much monthly. The school said I had to have a Subsidized Stafford loan to get the Pell Grant.Am I responsible for the loan? Since I was told afterwards that it was not a legal binding contract due to my age and that neither one of my parents co-signed on it?
Can I take out at loan at 17?
My Husband went to school for Welding and was promissed to be certified. When graduated didn't get any of his certifications, and now stuck with a loan payment. Not sure what kind of lawyer we need to help us with this case. I was told maybe civil rights?
I got a loan in my name for a vehicle and my friend was supposed to make payments on it. She hasnt made payments in 20 months. I want to go and get it because i have to pay now. How could i do that legally. because its on her property and the police said i cannot take it because we had a verbal agreement that if she paid every month she could keep it. But the title is in my name and the plates and the loan also.
I purchased a farm using two different private loans(no banks). One loan was on a promissory note. Animals were used as the collateral on the note. Having defaulted on the note, I have turned over all the animals to the party owed. Is there an Arizona law or case that establishes the turnover of collateral as discharge of the note? Can you recommend a method for me to find this specific information. Thanks
I co signed on a car for my ex boyfriend.We broke up few weeks later then said he could not pay for the car so I took over the payments. Now he wants the car back but the car company will not take my name off of the loan even though my ex is willing to sign off.Refinancing is not an option because the loan is more than the car is worth. Is their some legal process to get my name removed? I do not want the risk of him ruining my credit.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program