questions & answers
Question: A person of 18 years old is allowed to posess a handgun purchased through a private party or gifted as I understand it (and confirmed by ATF). What is the law on purchases of pistol ammo under 21?
Under Federal restrictions -
A. 18 USC § 922(x)(1). Punishable by up to 1 year imprisonment unless transferor had reason to believe juvenile would commit crime of violence with gun or ammunition, then up to 10 years imprisonment. May not sell, deliver or transfer a handgun or handgun-only ammunition to a person who is under age 18;
B. 18 USC § 922(x)(2). A person under age 18 may not possess a handgun or handgun-only ammunition;
(NOTE: Certain exceptions apply to A & B, such as where juvenile possesses written permission of a parent.);
C. 18 USC § 922(b). Punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment. A firearms licensee may not sell any gun or ammunition to anyone under the age of 18 and may not sell a handgun or handgun ammunition to a person under the age of 21.
Arizona also has age restrictions associated with firearms - A.R.S. 13-3109.
A person of 18 years old is allowed to posess a handgun purchased through a private party or gifted as I understand it (and confirmed by ATF). What is the law on purchases of pistol ammo under 21?
- Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program