questions & answers
Question: i have purchased a home about to be auctioned off I paid off mortgage and the owner signed over the house on a quit claim I am having trouble getting her to remove her stuff from property how long do I need to give her and what is the process I need to follow
Answer: The following article is from our AZLawHelp - Housing- foreclosure articles - Renting a Foreclosure:
1. Can I rent a property that is in foreclosure?
Yes, but the landlord must provide a written notice of the possible foreclosure with the rental agreement.
2. What happens if while I am renting a house the property goes into foreclosure?
If you are renting house and the property goes into foreclosure the landlord must notify you. In fact they must provide you with written notice within 5 business days of the first notice.
3. Is there a specific form that I need to use to notify a tenant?
Arizona Revised Statute 33-1331 provides a format for how a landlord should set up this information but it is not necessary to use this exact format. The format is as follows:
This property is undergoing foreclosure. For more information on this action, you should contact ________________ (name, address and phone number of the court where the action is filed or trustee, attorney or other responsible party).
A sale at auction may or may not occur as a result of this foreclosure. Currently, the sale of this property has been set for _________ (time, date and place) or no date for sale of this property has been established.
4. What happens if the owner fails to provide notice?
If a landlord fails to notify their tenant in writing within 5 business days the tenant may terminate the lease and recover their security deposit. It is also possible to obtain injunctive relief and money for any damages the tenant may have.
5. As a tenant can I just leave the property if I am not notified properly?
No, a tenant must deliver written notice stating how the landlord breached the agreement and that the rental agreement will end on a specific date. The end date must be at least 10 days after the letter is delivered.
6. Does this apply to apartment complexes?
No, these laws do not apply to apartment complexes or other multifamily residential complexes that have more than four units.
i have purchased a home about to be auctioned off I paid off mortgage and the owner signed over the house on a quit claim I am having trouble getting her to remove her stuff from property how long do I need to give her and what is the process I need to follow
- Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program