Arizona's Booster Seat LawsCar and Booster Seat Laws
Arizona law requires all children under the age of five must be seated in a legally recognized child restraint system. A child restraint system is a general term for devices used in a vehicle to protect infants and children from being injured in an accident and includes items such as car seats, infant safety seats and booster seats. On August 2, 2012 Arizona expanded the law to include children up to eight years old who are shorter than four feet nine inches.
What is a legally recognized child restraint system?
The law defines a child restraint system, commonly referred to as a car or booster seat, as a device designed to be used in a motor vehicle or a plane to seat a child who weighs less than 66 pounds. This device is not merely a seat belt. This system may be an add-on, built-in, factory installed, rear facing, child restraint system or a booster seat.
Is there an age requirement?
Yes, children under five must be in a child restraint system. Children between five and eight must be in a child restraint system until they are taller than four feet nine inches.
My child is seven years old but is five feet tall, does he need a booster seat?
No. If a child is over five years old and is above the height requirement then the child does not need to be in a booster seat.
My child is 8 years old, but only four foot eight does he need a booster seat?
No. Only children under eight years old are required under the law to be in a child restraint system.
What happens if I am pulled over and do not have a child restraint system?
If an officer believes you have broken the law he will ask the driver the age and height of the child to determine if the law has been broken.
What happens if I break the law?
A person who breaks the law may be fined $50.
Are there any exceptions to receiving a fine?
A person may not have to pay the $50 fine if they prove, by a receipt sent to the court, that the car is later equipped with a child restraint system.
I need help installing my car seat is there any place I can go?
Many police and fire stations will inspect and show you how to properly install your car seat. For more information contact your local station or call the Child Safety Seat Hotline at 602-543-8687.
Are there any loaner or rental programs for car or booster seats?
Yes, there are several organizations and agencies where a person can rent a car or booster seat for little or no cost. Hospitals are even required by law to give out this information to new parents. If you are in need of a rental program contact your local hospital, or the Children are Priceless Passengers (C.A.P.P.) safety program for information.
Does this law apply to all vehicles?
No, certain vehicles are exempt from this law. A list of those vehicles can be found under A.R.S. 28-907(H) and under A.R.S. 28-907(B).
Where can I find the law?
The Arizona law or Arizona Revised Statues can be found on the Arizona State Legislature's page, www.azleg.gov . The child restraint system law is Arizona Revised Statute 28-907.
Does a mother have sole custody of a child if you have a child out of wedlock and there is no court order in place?
my husband & i have been separated for years. he does not pay his court ordered child support and ive soley supported our child for the past 10 years & he doesn't come around. My son has became too disruptive & I feel he needs to be with his dad. If I give him to his dad to raise.....can i be charged with child abandonment? also, can he sue me for child support even though he's 30K behind in child support currently?
Can a Father (who is currently married) take the child (of the marriage) and leave to another state without a court decision on custody or any other legal filing.
i was given a wavier of consent of guardianship for my son i want to know after i sign it what will be my rights and if i have to pay child support
If a father's rights are severed can you still get child support from then
My boyfriend and I have broking up and he took our two boys ages 2yrs and 11months old to las Vegas and we haven't gone to court,can he do that? We have never been married either,what can I do to get them back?
My sons father lives out of state but isn't on the birth certificate. does my sons father need to pay child support??
My mother was given guardianship of my children when I was incarcerated. I've been out for over 2 years now. She has not allowed me to see my kids. I had a notarized statement giving custody to their dad, the judge did not accept it. Instead he accepted a letter I wrote to my sister while in county jail. How do I go about getting my kids back or visitation when I.can't afford it. To me this was all done wrong. And she wants child support when I can't see my kids.
I have a 4 yr old child.The father and were never married. Fathers name is on the birth certificate. He has never paid child support. The father does keep the child for the week end for the last 2 yrs. I want to move to another state. Will there be a legal issue?
Dad lives in Tucson, Mom moved out of State. Dad has primary custody. Dad wants to take daughter to Sierra Vista for a couple of days, Mom objects, saying he needs her permission. It's about 65 mile drive. Does dad need her permission everytime he wants to take a short rode trip within AZ? Thanks in advance.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program