questions & answers
Question: If my child's father has filed a custody case do I also need to file?
Answer: Are you the mother? If so, and you do not agree with the custody order he is asking the court to give him, then you will need to file a response that sets out your position on who should have custody (legal decision-making rights) for the children. You may want to talk to an attorney. Be aware, however that you have a limited time to file your response. There are 3 programs in Arizona that you can use to get some inexpensive legal advice and guidance. One is the Modest Means Program. If you are financially qualified for the program, for a $75 fee, Modest Means offers a one hour consult with an attorney. If you need additional help and the attorney agrees to take your case, the fee charged will not exceed $75 per hour. The telephone number is (866)637-5341. Both the Maricopa and Pima County Bar Associations have lawyer referral programs that offer a 30 minute consult with an experienced attorney. Maricopa County's Lawyer Referral Service offers a 30 minute consult for a fee of $40. The telephone number is (602) 257-4434. Pima County's Lawyer Referral Service offers a 30 minute consultation for a fee of $35. The telephone number is (520) 623-4625. You can find the form needed to file your response on the courts website. Go to: https://www.azcourts.gov/selfservicecenter/Family-Law-Forms#LDM.
If my child's father has filed a custody case do I also need to file?
- Let us know how we are doing! Please take a couple of minutes to fill out our survey.
- Please select your county of residence below.
State Bar of Arizona
Maricopa County Bar
Referral number 602-257-4434
Pima County Bar
Referral number 520-623-4625
National Domestic Violence Hotline
Bankruptcy Court Self Help Center
Certified Legal Document Preparer Program